Physical Review Journals Symposium and Awards

sponsored by:


APS Award for the Best Poster

Title: "Storage and Retrieval of Electromagnetic Waves with Metamaterial Analog of Electromagnetically Induced Transparency"

Authors: Toshihiro Nakanishi, and Masao Kitano​


APS Award for the Best Theoretical Paper

Title"Retrieving Regular Photonic Structures Though Global Optimization​"

Authors: Antoine Moreau, Mamadou Aliou Barry, Vincent Berthier, Marie-Claire Cambourieux, Rémi Pollès, Olivier Teytaud, Emmanuel Centeno, Bodo Wilts, and Nicolas Biais​


APS Award for the Best  Experimental Paper

Title"Non-reciprocity in Mechanical Metamaterials"

Authors: Corentin Coulais


APS Award for the Best  Applied Paper

Title"Metallic Nanoparticle-Array Lasers with Ultrafast Modulation Speeds and Highly Directional Beam"

Authors: Konstantinos Daskalakis, Aaro Väkeväinen, Jani-Petri Martikainen, Tommi Hakala, and Päivi Törmä


Physical Review Journals Symposium

The conference organizers and the editors of Physical Review invite you to a Special Session dedicated to a few select works published recently in the Physical Review journals, within and beyond the traditional domain of metamaterials research.

In addition to the session, there will also be a meet-and-greet event with the Physical Review editors.

Confirmed Invited Speakers and Presentation Titles:

  • Federico Capasso, Harvard University, "Metasurface Polarization Optics: Independent Phase Control of Arbitrary Orthogonal States of Polarization"
  • Aashish Clerk, University of Chicago, "Engineering dissipation in photonic and phononic systems for non-reciprocal quantum interactions"
  • Stefano Gonella, University of Minnesota, "Programmable Metastructures: Rainbow Trapping and Anisotropy Correction"
  • Christian Wolff, University of Southern Denmark, "Local densities of states in photonic systems with loss and material dispersion"

Physical Review editors:

  • Mu Wang, Editor, Physical Review Letters & Physical Review Materials
  • Ling Miao, Managing Editor, Physical Review X
  • Manolis Antonoyiannakis, Associate Editor, Physical Review B
  • Julie Kim-Zajonz, Managing Editor, Physical Review Applied
  • Thomas Pattard, Managing Editor, Physical Review A


Physical Review Journals Awards

The Congress General Chairs - Profs. Filiberto Bilotti and Andrea Alù - are very proud to announce the 2018 Best Paper Awards and 2018 Best Poster Award, sponsored by APS Physics.

The Best Paper Awards have been created to recognize the scientific quality of research in three different domains (Applied/Theory/Experiments) whereas the Best Poster Award is not related to a specific domain.

All papers/posters presented at the conference, except for invited and plenary contributions, are eligible.

Each award includes a certificate and an honorarium of €200 to be shared among the authors. The winner will be announced during the conference closing ceremony.

Supported by



CRC Press is a premier global publisher of science, technology, and medical resources. We offer unique, trusted content by expert authors, spreading knowledge and promoting discovery worldwide. We aim to broaden thinking and advance understanding in the sciences, providing researchers, academics, professionals, and students with the tools they need to share ideas and realize their potential.